3 Ways to Stay Healthy & Happy This Winter

Well hello, Storm Juno! In Boston we were projected to get 8-12 inches of snow today, but the snow’s definitely already a more than a foot, and it’s supposed to keep coming down until 1am. The public transit is closed, work is canceled, and we’re all hunkered down in our homes waiting for the constant and misleadingly gentle snowfall to stop. Don’t get me wrong, I love looking out at snow and watching Willie (my doggie) twirl around in the fluffy winter wonder land. But if I’m being honest, the winter can also make me feel sluggish and cold, and if I’m not taking care of myself I can (and do) get sick.

Winter in Boston

Here are 3 tips I plan to follow this winter onward to give my body the best chance to stay healthy and happy in the frigid weather. I hope you find them helpful too!

1. Exercise regularly

Exercise in the Winter

With exercise, rationalizations come easy. It’s cold out. I’m in a cozy mood. I worked out yesterday. I deserve a break. I’m tired. Skipping one day isn’t gonna make that big of a difference… Or, the worst excuse of all: I’ll make up for it tomorrow! Bull, Aruna – you totally won’t.

The thing is, exercise boosts the immune system and gives the human body energy. We sweat toxins out, and produce those awesome endorphins that make us happier and more positive. So, yes, it’s easy to convince yourself not to go to the gym. But it’s much, much better for you if you do go. Lately, I’ve been trying to convince myself to go. I literally have a full-blown internal conversation about it. Even though it’s still a work in progress (because I don’t always successfully convince myself), it’s totally worth trying to make it to the gym 3-5 times a week.

2. Eat well

Eat Well in the Winter

Mmm, smoothie. I drink one of these bad boys 7 mornings a week. It’s packed with banana, apple, blueberries, strawberries, yogurt, flax meal, orange juice, and almond milk. With so many great ingredients, I feel like I’m giving my body the fuel it needs to function better.

If you want to try to funky and awesome looking smoothie recipes, definitely check out ALOHA’s Smoothie and Drink recipe page. They all look absolutely delicious. (Update: I just discovered that you can also try a free bar of their superfood chocolate. Yumm!) Many thanks to the Social Media folks at the company for letting me know about it!

On top of smoothies, I want to do more to boost my health, like eat ginger regularly (to support a strong immune system), drink tea more often (which contains many health benefits and keeps you warm), and consume more citrus fruit (probably in the form of lemon in my tea, because citrus has vitamin C which prevents colds).

Side note: If you feel you’re getting sick already, definitely invest in some high-quality honey (like Manuka honey), which is not only delicious but also has surprising medicinal properties that will help your body fight the sickness.

3. Dress Appropriately

Dress Warmly

It doesn’t have to match. It doesn’t have to make you look glamorous, chic, or model-like. Seriously, I instantly look like a dopey walking potato when I throw my winter gear on. What matters is that I’m comfortably warm. This sounds so obvious, but I see a lot of people under dressed, wandering the windy streets of Brighton, bracing themselves against the cold. Even if you live in California, my home state, where the weather is famously vacation worthy, invest in what’s appropriate for the local winter climate. Sometimes this involves saving up enough money to buy an expensive but highly effective article of clothing. What not to do? Wear a skirt, flats, and a small sweater in the hope of looking hot on the way to a party. That’s so not warm.

If you (and I) follow these three tips, we’re sure to be as happy as Willie pup, after his adventures in the snow.

Willie Plays in the Snow

Willie Gets Snow on his Face

Happy Willie

Wishing you a happy winter!

Yours,

Aruna

Leave a Reply

