I’m Married And Looking Forward to Career Exploration

So much has happened in the last few months. I’m almost overwhelmed by the changes in my life, and so happy to be where I am right now. I’m definitely still figuring things out, but I have a much better picture of where I might want to be in 3-5 years.

First of all, in December I quit my job as Director of Marketing at a company in Boston and decided to become a “Marketing Contractor” for two different companies based in CA. (I telecommuted.) They were temp to perm positions, and because I love Inbound Marketing, which is what I did primarily for the companies, it could have worked out.  (In fact, I even got my Certification in Inbound Marketing. You can see the badge on my personal website.)

Obviously, telecommuting involves being on your computer all day. And something I didn’t anticipate happening was that all of the intense and constant interaction with my computer caused me to experience some serious health problems again. Many jobs in that industry involve telecommuting… So that career option flew out the door. In retrospect, it makes perfect sense that being on the computer all day would activate health issues related to sleep, but it was still a huge surprise for me.

I moped for a few days. Haha. Then I picked myself up again, and decided that finding a part time job would be best for me, so that I can focus on my next steps while still paying the bills. I knew I wanted this job to be the kind of position that would allow me to let home life be home life and work life be work life. No taking work home.

I had very short stints in a variety of positions, including dog walking (fun!). But nothing stuck.

Thankfully Josh, my boyfriend (at the time), knew someone who knew someone at a hiring agency, and soon I was hired for a part time position at my current job, which started on December 1st. Coincidentally, Josh started his new job on the same day, and let me tell you – we couldn’t have felt luckier!

Then, two days ago, we got married. It was a teeny tiny civil ceremony (at the unexpectedly gorgeous Newton City Hall) with close family. We dressed up, there were lots of smiles and hugs and tears, and we all went to dinner afterward. It was perfection. I hadn’t seen my mom for a year and a half, and she was able to fly out to see my marriage. And I don’t have a huge family, or a very close family in general, so I am overjoyed and honored to call Josh’s family my family as well. Our family. And he’s my husband! And my name is now Aruna Evan! I’m Mrs. Evan… It’s so wonderful, it’s surreal 🙂

Going forward I know life will only get better and better. The key is to stay positive and not let obstacles get me down.

In terms of my career, I plan to continue my part time job, practice yoga, take voice lessons, and keep creating YouTube videos on tea, vitiligo, health, and fun. I want to see where my passions take me. Historically speaking, I have let fear and self doubt get in the way of pursuing what I really want to in my work life, and for the first time I feel safe enough to allow myself to explore the scariest and most exciting paths. Wish me luck! 😛

I hope that whoever you are, wherever you are, you are happy, healthy, and inspired by the people and things around you. That you take each new day as an opportunity to do the things that truly fill your heart with joy.

Yours,

Aruna

6 thoughts on “I’m Married And Looking Forward to Career Exploration

  1. Audrey says:

    Beautiful! All blessings to you, Aruna! You lead a rich and abundant life. I look forward to the unfolding of this new chapter of your story!!!!!

  2. Angela Whitney says:

    This was beautiful and inspiring. Like a story out of a dreamed I might have dreamed long ago. Thank you for sharing your light with the world, and congratulations on your marriage! 🙂

  3. Angela Whitney says:

    I’m amazing! Life has been really crazy the past… what has it been? Like 7 years? Gosh that makes me feel old. I didn’t follow the path I thought I would but I think I found a happier one. 🙂 It looks like you did too! I love your videos. So much joy. Are you still living in Boston?

    • arunagee says:

      That’s wonderful! Yeah, wow … so long. 7 years. Haha. What are you up to these days? I saw some lovely photos of your special Valentine’s day 🙂

      Thank you! Yes, still in Boston. In Brighton to be exact. I live in a gem of an apartment with Josh and our dog Willie (who is currently asking to be taken out so I better wrap up this comment, teehee). Happy as a clam with how things are going.

      If you want to, email me at aruna(dot)evan15(at)gmail(dot)com 🙂 I’d love to play catch up fo real.

Leave a Reply

