Healthy Sidedish: Beet Recipe with Photos!

After writing a post about 6 health benefits of eating beets last month, I totally forgot about them. I thought for sure they had gone bad, but I was really surprised to find that they were fine when I took them out of the fridge this weekend! Yay! Resilient little roots.

Beets look funny
I know, the tails don’t look very appetizing.

I found inspiration for a healthy sidedish beet recipe in How to Cook Everything, by Mark Bittman. These are basically beet patties (rosti) that can be flavored however you please. Hope you like it as much as Josh and I did!


Ingredients:

  • Beets, duh. (The recipe called for 1.5 lbs. I had 3 beets and no scale. I winged it.)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp (or to taste) any herbs or seasoning (rosemary’s recommended, but I used oregano)
  • 2 tbs butter, or extra virgin olive oil

Directions

Buy beets with the leaves attached, and be sure the leaves are healthy. Cut them off of the beets. You can save the leaves if they look vibrant and edible, and use them in other recipes (which I plan to do in the future). Wash the beets and peel them with a vegetable peeler.

Grate the beets

Then, grate them. Honestly, this was the hardest part of the process for me. I took a chunk of my skin off in the process – but that’s because the beets are small rounded objects (like hacky sacks) and because I’m a bit of a clutz. Just be careful, because the beets are definitely awkward to grate. Alternatively, you could use a food processor.

Mix in a bowl

Place the grated beets in a large bowl and mix in the salt and herbs/seasoning. The recipe recommends to mix in the flour in 1/8 cup at a time. I’d say that’s sound advice. It tends to cling together, and it’s easier to mix in small amounts.

Browning butter

Brown the butter or heat the olive oil on a skillet. Now – the recipe in How to Cook Everything instructed me to pour the entire beet mixture into the pan, but I think that’s a big mistake. It’s just too difficult to manage. Just make smaller cakes out of the stuff (like hash browns patties). You can flip them easily and give each patty individual attention. Just cook them until they have crisped and browned a bit on both sides.

First attempt
First attempt: mega patty!

Second attempt
Second attempt: smaller patties worked better


You can add carrots to this recipe, you can add bolder flavors like curry powder or Parmesan – whatever you like! I think with a food processor this recipe would be a breeze – so that’s definitely on my kitchen wishlist. Oh, and if you read my article on the 6 health benefits of beets then you already know this, but if your pee is pink after after eating beets, eat more beets! It’ll help to normalize your stomach acid levels. Woot!

Yummy beets!

Yours,
Aruna

Leave a Reply

