I Have a Director-Crush on Wes Anderson

Wes Anderson‘s writing and directing make me happy. His movies feature dark material expressed through whimsical comedy, filmed in the style of theater. Characters have unexpected traits. Precocious children, silly doe-eyed adults, and everything in between. He manages to add a wonderful and addictive richness and depth to people or situations. Almost all his works feature characters with daddy issues, and a stoic female with dark eye makeup.

If I were a career actor, I would do anything to get an even small part in one of his films.

Here’s the trailer of his latest movie, The Grand Budapest Hotel:

Of the 11 (technically 12) works he has written and directed, I have seen:

  • Rushmore (1998)
  • The Royal Tenenbaums (2001)
  • The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou (2004)
  • Fantastic Mr. Fox (2009)
  • Moonrise Kingdom (2012)

And I look forward to watching:

  • Bottle Rocket (the short – 1994) and Bottle Rocket (feature film – 1996)
  • The Darjeeling Limited (2007)
  • Hotel Chevalier (a short – 2007)
  • Cousin Ben Troop Screening with Jason Schwartzman (a short – 2012)
  • Castello Cavalcanti (a short – 2013)
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel (2014)

The Grand Budapest Hotel was released in the U.S. in late March and, as I don’t go to the theater very much, I wonder whether I should suffer the wait! If you have not seen any of his films, I would suggest Moonrise Kingdom or Rushmore for starters.

Yours,

Aruna

P.S. My heart goes out to the victims of last year’s Boston Marathon bombings. I admire the bravery of those who have decided to return to the race this year.

Leave a Reply

