How to Improve Memory, Boost Learning, and Train Your Brain

In college I took a freshman seminar on early childhood development, where I learned that our brains, under the hair, skin, and sculls, are like hard jelly. When you’re born it starts out like soft jelly, and this plasticity is what is partially responsible for the extraordinary rapid learning of our early years. Over time, we lose plasticity, and along with it the ability to learn quickly. We also lose the ability affect the structure and inner makeup of our brains so that doing things like improving memory and boosting learning become more difficult to manage. (That’s why a lot of moms play classical music for their fetus babies! Listening to classical music during that formative time affects our brains’ development, in ways that scientists have been able to physically measure.)

But more and more research has shown that all is not lost for adults. We can follow some fun practices to keep our brains stimulated, improve memory, boost learning, and train your brain to look at the world with fresh eyes and an open mind. All of these practices follow the same general rule: Challenge yourself. Learn something new or do something different.

Things you can do to train your brain:

  • Brush your teeth with the other hand.
  • Change your handwriting (e.g. write your “a”s differently).
  • Start learning a new language.
  • Pick up a new instrument or refresh an old one.
  • Play puzzles that challenge you.
  • Learn computer programming. (Super useful in this day and age)
  • Learn to juggle!

Josh (my boyfriend) recently learned to juggle with my juggling balls!! Check it out:

πŸ˜›

Of course, there are countless things you can do, so pick something that’s fun, different, and challenging for you, step out of your comfort zone, and go have an adventure this weekend!

Yours,

Aruna

 

2 thoughts on “How to Improve Memory, Boost Learning, and Train Your Brain

  1. Alina says:

    I’m all about adventures and trying new things (like running my first 5k next weekend – hopefully!)! Here’s to an adventurous weekend. What adventurous thing(s) will you be doing? I’m taking Monday off, so I’m looking for inspiration (and hopefully good weather!) So far, I’m going to run in the park where the race will be held (for the first time), and do some spring cleaning, but I feel like there should be more!

    • arunagee says:

      Woohoo! Alina, that’s purely awesome! (Running a 5k is definitely on my bucket list.)

      Friday I had a party with several friends, featuring spiked tea. I’ve wanted to learn about the best ways to make adult tea for a while, so this was the perfect opportunity. (There’s one that turns the liquid sparkly with edible flecks of gold-colored things from melt-able sugar balls! Say what!!) Today I’m doing a bit of research into skin conditions that are similar to vitiligo (and could be mistaken for it). I know, researching skin condition is a weird hobby – but I’m totally into it πŸ˜› I usually try to invent a new type of dish every weekend, or at least try a new recipe! Will probably do that. May do some photo exploration! Also will probably try to learn some more Python (which I’ve been horrible at keeping up the last few weeks). *phew* Not enough time for all the fun things! I’m not sure if you’d be interested in some of these things though…

      What about composing a short musical theme with the 30 day free trial of finale: http://www.finalemusic.com/free-trial/ ? Or doing a photo project that involves asking random people a fun question (e.g. “What is the most inspiring song you’ve ever heard?”) and asking to take a photo of them. You can feature their photos, the song title and artist, and a link to the song or an embedded YouTube video of it on your blog! Or – do you know any Spanish? If you’re interested in practicing with me, maybe we can try like 30 minutes of sans English Skype-time together this weekend? I’m basically bursting with adventure ideas, so if none of these sound fun to you, hit me up again and I’ll continue the idea-deluge πŸ˜›

      Hugs!
      Aruna

Leave a Reply

