Drink Water, Cook Food, and Use Oil

Alright, I know how crazy I’m about to sound. But sometimes (err, often) I really do feel that large companies like Bank of America (which I wrote about last week), McDonald’s, Pepsi and Coca-Cola (which basically own EVERY-effing-THING in the non-alcoholic drink market), beauty companies, the companies in the medical industry (thanks to pharmaceutical companies) ….. These entities have a vested interest in maintaining our relative ignorance.

They hope that they will make good money, which makes sense. But it’s this same hope that ensures that they won’t have our best interest in mind. They want us to have money problems, eat poorly, have skin problems, and visit their locations to consume their products. It just makes sense.

How would McDonald’s make money if you ate healthily and knew exactly how healthy food could help you realize your fullest potential as a human, ill-suited for chemical filled foods that even ants won’t touch? How would beauty companies make money if you realized that by ordering the simplest ingredients (like pure facial oils) on the cheap, from lesser known companies, and by eating clean foods, you will have healthy and excellent looking skin? How would the medical industry continue to thrive if we were all stuffing our bodies with shockingly delicious, healthy food that keeps you fit and happy? Like the Black Bean and Quinoa Chili my boyfriend and I made this weekend (I’m posting about that on Thursday).

Don’t get me wrong: I’m not a “purest” in terms of food, medicine, or drink. I eat Dunkin on the weekends (and other horrible, tasty stuff), I take Ibuprofen and Excedrin Migraine as needed, and I drink juice, soda, bottled water, wine, beer — all in moderation. And even though I occasionally consume their products, I firmly believe it is naive to think that any of these companies have our best interest, health, and happiness in mind.

For example: 99% of the time, your doctor won’t give you natural remedies to problems. (Yes, I pulled that statistic out of my ass. So kill me..) If you have diabetes, your doctor won’t tell you that taking an Epsom salt bath will help your body to regulate insulin much more healthily than otherwise. This isn’t some hokey-artichokey pseudo-factoid. Even though it’s widely supported by the medical community, why are patients with diabetes not widely- nor well-informed. It’s possible your doctor may not even know varies natural alternatives That may very well be part of the issue.

Pharmaceutical companies are trying to bottle and sell “cures.” But even they derive many of their medicines from plant-based sources, and in the end of the day, they do not know how the medicines work. I have to repeat that!! In the end of the day, pharm companies very often do not know how their medicines actually work. They simply procure these “highly effective” and “targeted” medicines by trial and error. And there’s much error to be had, isn’t there? Just read this article on 9 legal drugs with extremely disturbing side effects. Psychotic nightmares or seizures? Pick your poison.

Having previously worked in the medical industry, and having had medical issues that doctors were shockingly horrible at solving, I could write for days on the topic. But, as this has become a proper tangent to the proposed topic of “drinking water, cooking food, and using oil,” I’ll get back to it:

What I’m trying to say is, be as self-sufficient and critical as possible when it comes to what you’re consuming. Choose water over juice or soda, cook food with little to no sugar, lots of veggies, and natural herbs and spices, and go back to the basics when it comes to face, body and hair care. (Read about oils you can incorporate into your skincare.)

Phew, I’ve gone on for too long haven’t I? I’ll save the rest for another day 😛

What do you think? Am I nuts?

Yours,

Aruna

Song: Why Is It So Hard by Charles Bradley

Leave a Reply

