Weekend Adventure: My Roommate Moved Out

This weekend my roommate moved out of the house we’re living in. I think he moved back in with his parents, and it’s all for the best because to be perfectly frank he wasn’t very nice to me. It’s been a long time coming, even though he only gave us a day or two of notice. The couch, tv, and tv stand, went with him, so my boyfriend and I spent our weekend making some large unexpected purchases. A fun exercise in interior design!

We went to Best Buy in the Watertown mall for the tv and tv stand, which took us hours to put together. Haha! It reminded us of Ikea furniture, except the instructions were much better (which made all the difference).

40" Samsung TV from Best Buy

Have you been watching True Detective by the way? OH dear LORD. The suspense!

TV stand from Best Buy

Next stop: Unique Furnishings in Allston, on Harvard Ave. The owner, a quirky and witty German guy, is a hoot! And his store is unparalleled in the world of thrift shops. We bought a nice sized couch on the cheap and couldn’t resist snatching up a white wicker basket and adorable “restaurant” chalkboard.

Couch from Unique Furnishings

We’re planning on springing for a lower coffee table this weekend and using this one shown here as a “tea station” for all of my tea goodies!

Chalk board from Unique Furnishings

Aww, the first thing my boyfriend wrote was that heart with my name.

White wicker basket from Unique Furnishings

Finally we made a stop at Marshall’s, where we bought 2 patterned pillows for the couch (guess whose idea that was, haha!). Later, when I was snuggling up with the pillows in our living room I decided to read then remove the manufacture’s tag. You know, the ones that say you may not remove it unless you are the customer who purchased it, under penalty of law or whatever. Well. The lovely tags informed me that the pillows were made in my hometown in CA! How nuts is that ?! For no good reason, I love them even more because of that.

Pillow from Marshall's

There’s so much space in the house now. We have 4 rooms and 3 bathrooms! But we’re definitely paying the price for it. ($1250/month in rent for each of us. Youch! We might consider renting out a room in the coming months.) But everything worked out really nicely. We took this opportunity to reconfigure some of the furniture in the living room, and now it feels really open, welcoming, and just a fun space to be in!

Yours snuggling with the pillows,

Aruna

Song: Hakuna Matata, guys 🙂

4 thoughts on “Weekend Adventure: My Roommate Moved Out

  1. Alina says:

    How interesting! I was thinking of re-decorating/sprucing up my room this weekend, and pillows were on my mind as well! It’s such a nice thing to do in the spring, and I’m glad that things seem to be working out.

    • arunagee says:

      That’s awesome! Pillows can make a huge difference to any room’s appeal. Fun fun. Take pictures – I’d love to see how it goes this weekend 🙂

    • arunagee says:

      Haha, you’re exactly right Mario. It’s something of a mixed blessing. We’re loving the extra space after all though. Dedicated office, music room, filming room (that can double as a guest room), and bedroom. With 2 dogs and lots of stuff, it’s really nice. But the cost! Oi the cost.

Leave a Reply

