Oils on the Face

Today I’m going to write (in brief) about the oils I use to moisturize my face. I have oily/combo sensitive skin, and used to have really painful acne problems. Acne is now infrequent, and my face does not get overly oily. Win!

RMS Beauty Oil, Maracuja oil, Castor oil, and Coconut oil(Left to right: Coconut oil, RMS Beauty oil blended with Maracuja oil, Castor oil, pure Maracuja oil)

Recent beauty trends acknowledge the soothing and curative powers of oils for the face and skin, but not too long ago it remained a well-kept secret. Indian beauty recommendations have never shied away from oil though, for hair, face and body. I think the four oils I use work wonderfully, and I am so happy to have found a natural solution to my skin problems. I have stopped using my L’Occitane Divine Cream (even though I loved it so much!) in light of my most recent love: Coconut oil.

Here’s a bit about my routine …

Morning:

After cleansing and allowing my face to dry, I place the following in my palm:

  • 5 drops of RMS Beauty oil blended with Maracuja oil
  • 3 drops of Castor oil
  • a dime sized amount of the creamy-to-solid Coconut oil

I warm and mix the oils by rubbing my hands together, then I apply the oil to my face and neck, avoiding my lips and eye area. Later I apply pure Maracuja oil to my lips and eye area. (I don’t think castor oil is supposed to go on the more sensitive areas of the face, as it’s an oil that digs deep.)

Evening:

After cleansing, spritzing my face with a toner for sensitive skin, and letting my face dry, I (once again) place the following in my palm:

  • 5 drops of pure Maracuja oil
  • 3 drops of Castor oil
  • a dime sized amount of Coconut oil

Same deal as the morning really. Smoosh it all over my face and neck, avoiding lips and eyes and go back in with pure Maracuja for those areas.  I leave the RMS Beauty oil out of my evening routine because the Beauty oil costs an arm and a leg! I’m planning on not repurchasing RMS beauty when I run out, partially to save the monies but also partially to see if I can get away with just using the purest and simplest ingredients.

Time permitting, I’ll research the benefits of each of these oils in depth and post about it when I get a chance!

Note: Always patch test to be sure you don’t have an allergy to any of the things you put on your face! I have to admit, I don’t always do this myself, but I know I should 😛

Yours,

Aruna

2 thoughts on “Oils on the Face

  1. Curtis says:

    Thanks for the information. I have begun to use oils on my face and body. The person at the store where I purchased my oils said she recommends using food grade organic oils. I have discovered sesame seed oil. And, I love the fragrance of sandlewood oil. So, I blend them. Thanks again for your information

Leave a Reply

