Let the Mac Mania Begin …

I saw a black box on my porch last week, and even before I opened it I knew it was from Mac. I used to disliked the thought of ordering beauty products from Mac, simply because of the price. I thought, “I’m sure the quality’s acceptable, but why on god’s green earth would I pay over $10 for a brush?”

But last week I caved.

I ordered four products, and they totaled a whopping $90, with free shipping. With their forgiving return policy (much like Sephora’s), I knew I could return whatever I was unsatisfied with. This definitely gave me some peace of mind.

My first impression: it is worth it. It usually takes me a few tries to warm up to beauty products. I experiment with different combinations, amounts, tools for application, etc. But with Mac, it really was love at first try.

Mac Pro Longwear Paint Pot in Constructivist
Mac Pro Longwear Paint Pot in Constructivist

I use the Urban Decay Naked2 palette daily. In particular, I’m partial to Snakebite. Over my dark skin, Snakebite is the perfect, versatile color for day or night, work, parties, movies, whatever. I was on the verge of ordering the single, even though I’ve barely made a dent in Snakebite’s section on my Naked2 palette. Honestly, I didn’t think it was possible for me to like an eyeshadow more than I do Snakebite, but Mac’s Constructivist managed just that. More to the point, I think the formulation for the paint pot is superb. It does not crease, it does not budge. You only need to apply slightest bit to create a great sweep of color across the lid. A+! 10/10! LOVE it!

Mac Mineralize Skinfinish in Medium Deep
Mac Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Medium Deep

Beauty gurus rave about this product. To be perfectly honest, that’s the only reason I got the skinfinish. Haha. It worked out though. I’m happy with it. It’s not a high-glitz product, that’s for sure. But it does address a problem I had been having with my makeup for a while: my foundation was not perfectly matched with my skin tone. I did not want to bother with all that mixing/blending/fiddling nonsense (which isn’t nonsense at all – I was just lazy!) and the color was pretty close to my own anyway … so I just shrugged and let it go. The mineralize skinfinish puts the color back into my skin, post-foundation. It seems to magically, subtly define the contours of my face, which I very much like. A keeper!

Mac Eye Pencil in Ebony
Mac Eye Pencil in Ebony

Eye pencils scare me. I may have used one, once, ever. Before this one of course. You can easily search for swatches via google, but what those swatches may not reveal is how friggin highly pigmented this pencil is. I lightly brushed it against the back of my hand before trying for the first time, and gasped aloud. If you look closely, you’ll see that the color Ebony is not black. It’s actually a very dark brown, which I approve of wildly. Purely black pigment is often just too dark. You want a dark brown, because it will look black-ish without making you seem ready to suck someone’s blood. (Hey – but if that’s what you’re going for, go bold or go home!) Now, I think Mac-therapy has cured me of my eye pencil fear. I no longer feel I have to stab my eye to bits to define my lash line. Win!

Mac 217 Blending Brush
Mac 217 Blending Brush

I already have a blending brush (the Real Techniques one) so this brush was purely a splurge item. Heh. I use blending brushes to apply my eyeshadow, but I don’t actually use them to blend much. (I’ve been experimenting with other colors from the Naked2 palette recently, so that might change.) The 217 brush is nice, functional you know? It has soft bristles, and the handle feels like heaven to hold. Really. Overall, I feel I’m just satisfied enough with this brush to keep it. (Though that might change in the weeks to come!)

Makeup is fun đŸ™‚ Hope you enjoyed this!

Yours,

Aruna

Song: Feeling Good by Nina Simone

Leave a Reply

