Adventure Thursday: The Boston Wine Expo

Okay, the Expo was on the weekend, but I couldn’t resist posting about it today because it definitely was a great adventure. I haven’t been to many wine tastings, but I’d guess that The Boston Wine Expo is one of the biggest and best. My boyfriend and I went on Saturday, the 15th. It was located at the Seaport World Trade Center, which funnily enough is just a few minutes from my place of work. Ohh boy, much fun was had there.

When you first walk in you are greeted by a disco light show projected onto the floor, which definitely set the mood for a fun, lively atmosphere.

IMG_0047

As expected, there were many types of wine. The whole warehouse sized room filled with food and drink and trinkets was organized by region (e.g. Europe, Mediterranean, etc.).

IMG_0049

Yumm.

IMG_0052

Cool label!

IMG_0057

Really good wine made from some grape that only grows in a certain area in Spain, I think.

The label on the 12 Linajes wine is really impressive and cool looking. Here’s a video about the awesome history behind it!

There were some lightweight drinks too, like this fruity, delicious eye-candy of a drink.

IMG_0061

Slightly carbonated, and fully delicious.

And tea!! What a pleasant surprise!

IMG_0070

It looks like David’s Tea, originally a Canadian tea company, is relatively new to New England. According to Vincent (below) the manager at the downtown location, David’s Tea has two locations: one downtown and one in south end.

IMG_0071

Vincent, a cool cat indeed!

There was also a variety of edibles.

IMG_0050

Cheese!

IMG_0053

To-die-for rum cake *drool*

IMG_0054

Chocolate, a must have πŸ™‚

IMG_0059

Raw Quail Eggs? I passed on those πŸ˜›

There was even a cooking exhibition, on the gorgeous Clarke stage (a distributor of Sub-Zero and Wolf). That’s celebrity Chef Ming Tsai from Blue Dragon and Blue Ginger on stage in the picture. They passed out the food he was making, and we nabbed a couple plates of the pad thai. SO tasty!

IMG_0058

Clarke Stage with cooking exhibition

Beside food and drink, there were things like a lotion booth, a grater set booth, and a booth dedicated to wine and plant pot sweaters (cute)!

IMG_0075

Aloe skin care

IMG_0063

Seriously cool dishes with graters in the center from D-grater

IMG_0068

Made in Spain by the way

IMG_0076

The guy selling these had a smile on his face like, “I know how insane these are, but aren’t they fun?” Haha!

We didn’t really plan to buy anything, but ended up coming away with:

IMG_0087

2 free Boston Expo wine glasses

IMG_0086

A D-grater set with grating plate, cleaning brush, and MAGICAL garlic skin remover (the yellow thing)

When I excitedly told my mom that we bought a grater, and she responded, “Ohh … a … grater… Yeahhhh.” Haha!! Then I explained how artfully constructed and brilliantly designed it is. In her defense, my boyfriend and I are probably a bit overboard in our enthusiasm for this grater πŸ˜›

IMG_0089

A huge jar of raw, pesticide free honey from Aquidneck Honey. Jeff the Beeman is AWESOME and I would highly recommend buying from his company.

I’m sorry that most of the pictures are out of focus and have bad lighting. I decided to snap this pictures with my iPhone, and I couldn’t do anything about the mood lighting at the Expo. I also totally forgot to take a picture of my outfit!! I was wearing a cream topped and black, ruffle bottomed cocktail dress from Express with a black blazer from White House Black Market. I also donned my usual Tiffany heart necklace and longer multicolored fish necklace, both of which I wear everyday.

After the Expo, my boyfriend and I decided to go out to a restaurant/bar called Devlin’s to nibble on appetizers, have a couple of non-wine adult drinks, and chat without the huge crowd around. This was actually our original plan to celebrate Valentine’s!

IMG_0077

IMG_0082

Truffle fries

IMG_0081

Quesadilla

IMG_0080

My Blood Orange Vodka cocktail. Yum.

Overall it was a great night and if you’re ever in Boston around the time of the Wine Expo, it’s definitely worth going!

Yours,

Aruna

Leave a Reply

