Thoughtsy Monday: Anxiety Sucks

After a two hour struggle, I landed on the topic of anxiety. I think we can all agree that anxiety sucks. Partially thanks to YouTuber Tanya Burr’s recent honesty and openness about her anxiety, I’ve decided to talk about my own a bit too …

Also, I forgot to mention: On occasion, I have felt anxiety first thing in the morning (especially after conflict with someone) which seems to immobilize me and kind of force me to stay tense and in bed unless I have somewhere to be that day. At times like that, I always think of the people I love and of sunshine. I know how utterly cheesy that is, but it really does help me. The image of sunshine holds happiness and promise of fun and adventure, doesn’t it? (Maybe that’s just because I’m a California girl!)

I haven’t used the “Calm” app I mentioned, but I’ve definitely heard good things. There’s also a “Calm” website, so you can use their meditation platform from you computer too. You can do “guided calm” or just set a timer for the amount of time you want to sit with the calming music in the background. They have 2, 5, 10, 15, and 20 minutes sessions. The website’s great.

As usual, please feel free to be in touch anytime.

Yours calm,

Aruna

Song: Cuckoo by Benjamin Britten, from the Moonrise Kingdom soundtrack …

P.S. I went to the Boston Wine Expo this weekend, and it was such great fun! I took some photos and will post about it all on Thursday πŸ™‚

P.P.S. WOW. FYI, if you try to make a recording on the SoundCloud platform, then decide that you don’t want that recording you can click “start over” instead of “upload your recording.” The only problem is, IT PRESERVES THE ORIGINAL RECORDING just underneath your new one, instead of just deleting the old one entirely!! Ahh, nightmare! I had given really personal, unflattering information about someone, accidentally said his name in the recording, and then decided against it. The original recording: 16min. The new recording: 12 min. That means, the last 4 minutes of the old one, including the mention of the fellow’s name, was actually part of the soundcloud recording that I uploaded and posted here. I changed it, but it was difficult to do so. SoundCloud really needs to fix this!!

5 thoughts on “Thoughtsy Monday: Anxiety Sucks

  1. tlohuis says:

    I, too, suffer from anxiety and I do meditate on a regular basis. Sometimes I used guided meditation and most of the time I just meditate on my own with no guidance. Thank you so much for sharing this information and website. I did check it out and did the quick 2 min. guided one. I love this website so much and I’ve now got the page bookmarked and will now be using this on a regular basis. Thanks again and I’m going to start following your wonderful blog. Hope to see you around.:)

Leave a Reply

