What’s the Deal with Chamomile Tea?

I got a request to make a video detailing the health benefits of Chamomile tea (thanks lonestar313!). I think that’s brilliant because we all have had it, and jeezus it’s healthy!

When you buy Chamomile tea, try to get it with whole flower heads! Apparently that’s much better. Of course, I don’t always do that myself 😛

Health benefits: http://www.stylecraze.com/articles/health-benefits-of-chamomile-tea/

Here’s the jazzy Chamomile drink recipe, as promised! It’s got a tartness and a sweetness and a swirl of flavors. Really enjoyable:

Start with Chamomile tea bags. I used Bigelow, but it doesn’t have whole flower heads so next time I might switch to another brand. Maybe.

IMG_0703

You’ll also need half a lemon:

IMG_0704

And half an apple (whichever you prefer):

IMG_0707

Cut the lemon and apple up, in a way that you think you’ll get maximum juiciness out of it later when you mash it in the hot water.

IMG_0711

I used part of the Russell and Hobs set that I have, which has a mesh net. I put the sliced fruit into it.

IMG_0713

And put 3 Chamomile tea bags on top.

IMG_0714

I poured hot water over the pile.

IMG_0719

And mashed the pile so that all of the ingredients touched the hot water. This ensures that everything gets steeped and helps the juice from the fruit come out.

IMG_0722

Allow it to steep at least 5 minutes (the more you steep it, the more flavorful the drink will be).

IMG_0725

Here’s the finished product! It doesn’t look crazy-good, but it sure tasted amazing.

IMG_0729

And for an adult version you can add a bit of tequila 😉 Goes really well with the sweet and citrus flavors!

IMG_0731

I really love this drink. A LOT. It’s a lot of effort, so it’s probably more of a weekend thing. And it might be more worth it to make it in large amounts, especially in the summertime as an alternative to traditional lemonade. YES. So excited for that! But for now, I’ll stick to the warm and comforting dark chocolate hot chocolate from Burdick’s that I got as a gift for the holiday season 🙂

Let me know if you have any questions or if there is a tea you’d like me to review. Thanks so much for watching/reading 🙂 Have a great day!

Yours,

Aruna

Song: Girl Named Tennessee by Needtobreathe

I love Needtobreathe. I saw them in concert a few years ago in Boston, and it was amazing! If you can believe it, they were MUCH better live. The energy was just electric.

Leave a Reply

