Light the Night with Homemade Candles

Candles, tea, and cuddles. The perfect recipe for a great sleep. I light candles every night before bedtime. The soft glow of the little flames, the extra warmth that permeates the room, and the smell – the wonderful smell.

I recently decided to invest in candle-making materials. Making candles at home will be so much more cost effective, and a fun hobby. I made my first candle and wanted to share the process with you!

-1Step 1: Gather materials. You’ll need…

– water
– glue (hot glue gun or crazy glue… I wouldn’t recommend any other glue)
– a pair of pliers
– an appropriate container for your wax
– enough wax to fill your container to 1/4 inch from the top
– candle wick (check to be sure you’re getting the right kind for the candle you want to make)
– wick tabs
– a large sauce pan
– a metal wax melting pot (like a metal bowl, smaller sauce pan, or actual wax melting tin like the one below)
– a long, thin object you’ll use to hold the wick in place when pouring the wax into the container
– candle thermometer (optional, in my opinion)

Step 2: Fill your large sauce pan with 1 inch of water. Boil water.

-11Step 3: Once water is boiling, place your melting tin in the water in the sauce pan. It might float around a bit, but that’s fine as long as it stays upright. (Pictured below is my candle melting tin.)

-9Step 4: Measure the amount of wax needed for your candle (approx. measurement is fine, you can always add more later). Place that wax in the melting tin. (I used leftover wax from old candles.)

-8Step 5: While waiting for the wax to melt completely, measure your wick to an inch or two longer than the height of your candle container. (I accidentally got the wrong kind of wick. Apparently they are made differently for different types of wax and different candle diameters. Ah well. I used it anyway – we’ll see how it turns out.)

-6Step 6: Take a wick tab and put one end of your wick through it so that about 1 mm is sticking out the bottom (the flat end). Pinch the protruding part (the top) with a pair of pliers so that the wick and the tab are now one object.

-7Step 7: Glue the bottom of the wick tab to the middle-bottom of your candle container. Then wind the top of the wick around your long, thin object and place it over the opening of your candle container so that the wick is just about in the middle of everything all the way to the top.

-5Step 8: I’ve read that your wax should be 185 degrees, so if you care about that you should use your thermometer to check the temperature of your melted wax. (As it turns out, my wax never went about 155 degrees, so I got a bit impatient and decided to just pour it.)

-10Step 9: Once you’re happy with your melted wax, pick up your melting tin and pour the wax into your container. Be sure to coat your wick with wax as you’re doing this. If it turns out you needed more candle wax, it’s not an issue to melt more, and add it to your container. (I saved this container after melting all of a candle from Anthropologie. I cleaned it in boiling water before adding new wax to it.)

-4

Step 10: Cut the wick and remove the extra. Let the wax cool off and enjoy!

Future plans and improvements!! Yes yes yes! I learned that wax tends to sink in the middle as it cools off. To prevent this from happening, next time I need to use a pencil to poke holes in the half-cool wax and pour extra wax to top it off. I would also LOVE to order plain wax and add my own scents. (I used scented candle wax from old candles, as I mentioned.) But I’ll wait until I’ve used the wax I have. Also, instead of gluing your wick tab to the bottom of your candle container, apparently you can use a little bit of melted wax. Next time I’ll try to pour a little wax in the bottom, place the tab there, and let it cool before filling the whole container.

If you have any tips, I’d looove to hear them.

Thanks 🙂

Yours,

Aruna

Song: Thrills, Cake

7 thoughts on “Light the Night with Homemade Candles

    • arunagee says:

      Thanks so much Yogalime. It’s great fun – I’d definitely recommend it 🙂 I’d love to hear how it went and what you learned in the process.

      Much love!
      Aruna

Leave a Reply

