“Ew” is not a real word?!

I was playing scrabble with my boyfriend the other day and when I tried to play the word “ew” he made a face, turned to me, and said, “I’m sorry … that’s not a scrabble word.” Why is “ew” not an acceptable 2 letter scrabble word?! I would love for someone to give me a good defense of this particular egregious omission.

Scrabble

“Aw” is scrabble acceptable and defined as an exclamation, “used to express mild protest, entreaty, commiseration, or disapproval.” “Eh” is also scrabble acceptable and defined as an exclamation, “used to represent a sound made in speech in a variety of situations, in particular to ask for something to be repeated or explained or …”

We all know “ew” is an exclamation used to express disgust. So why isn’t it scrabble acceptable?!!!

It’s because it’s not officially a word. Try looking it up in a dictionary other than urbandictionary.com. In all of the official dictionaries, it’s listed as an abbreviation for “enlisted woman.” That’s messed up. If “aw” and “eh” are officially words, then “ew” should be a word, darn it!

Dear Dictionary Gods, add "ew" to the dictionary.

Dear Dictionary Gods, add “ew” to the dictionary.

I’m shocked. I know I shouldn’t care this much, but I do. Poor “ew.” He does belong. He’s just as important as the rest.

Yours,

Aruna

Leave a Reply

