DIY Body Scrub

I’m loving DIY body treatments at the moment, but I have been making and using this particular body scrub for a while now.

DIY Body Scrub

DIY Body Scrub

It’s super simple to make. It exfoliates and moisturizes. All the things a scrub should do, without the expensive frills. I use it on my body (neck and feet too), but never on my face.

You’ll need:

1) An empty container (I use an empty Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie* tub)

2) Vaseline

3) Olive oil (and/or any other oil)

4) Sugar (don’t use white sugar (shown in picture) – brown sugar is the best for scrubs!)

5) Any kind of honey (not shown in picture)

*By the way, I’m not a fan of the Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie. It’s too greasy for my liking. I use Aquage Straightening UltraGel (for men and women), which doesn’t so much straighten my hair as it just controls frizz without getting crunchy. More expensive, but definitely worth it.

DIY Body Scrub - what it should look like

DIY Body Scrub – what it should look like

What to do:

Fill the tub half way with brown sugar. Add oil until it looks like it has just soaked up the oil. Don’t add so much that the sugar is swimming. The contents should look like a rocky terrain. If you try to pick up some of it, it shouldn’t drip.

Add Vaseline to your liking. I usually just eyeball it – 2 or 3 tablespoons to start, and keep adding if needed until the scrub tends to stick a little bit to what’s around it.

Finally, add honey. However much you want. The honey will separate from the scrub over time. Just mix before use.

When using it:

I usually soap and rinse my body before using it. I don’t want to trap the grime of the day onto my skin with all that Vaseline. Then I use the scrub (circular motions). After that (and this is the most IMPORTANT step) I quickly wash with soap again. You have to wash again. The Vaseline is too thick on the body if you don’t – and it’s worth the trouble!! After your second wash there will still be some Vaseline left behind on your skin. The amount that is left behind will leave your skin SUPER SILKY for the next 2 or 3 days. Yay soft skin!

Yours,

Aruna

2 thoughts on “DIY Body Scrub

  1. MelaninFader says:

    I found an awesome recipe for a DIY body scrub, made from lemon juice, olive oil plus sugar. Trouble is, I near broke my neck after utilizing it considering the shower floor became so flippin slippery plus it was near impossible to clean it. I’ve tried dumping a load of glucose inside a bowl of shower gel, however, the sugar merely dissolved. Does anyone learn of a DIY body scrub that doesn’t involve slippery sloping?

    • arunagee says:

      Oh no .. I’m so sorry you slipped! 😦 I have definitely experienced the same thing. I usually try to use the scrub only in the bath, so that I don’t slip anymore. I always have to clean the tub after baths, so it just seems like less work in general to incorporate the scrub.

      But according to this website: http://www.3fatchicks.com/homemade-body-scrubs-using-coffee-as-an-exfoliator/ … Coffee is great to use, and “if you don’t like the idea of using oil as a base for your body scrub, don’t fret. You can use a fragrance-free, water-based lotion, or even a fragrance-free soap instead.” Maybe those would be less slippery?

      Also, maybe aloe vera. It stays silky for a short amount of time (just enough to scrub), then it sinks into the skin really quickly. You might have to use it just before turning the water on in the shower. I haven’t tried this myself yet, so I’m not sure the best way to use it – or even whether it’s a good solution. But I’ll plan on testing some of these ideas out and will be sure to post a review if I come across a great solution to the slippery-issue!

Leave a Reply

