Circadian Confusion

Sleep’s fundamental. We’ve all heard it a thousand times.

Cute sleeping baby!

And as it turns out, I have had quite a rough history with sleep and I think that my bad sleep habits have really gotten in the way of my ability to live life how I would like to. (Side note: What my life’s purpose is exactly I don’t know. But as a part of my desire to find a purpose in life, I’ve decided sleep is one of those things that just needs to happen.) It may not be the case for everyone, but my body is very fickle and if I do not sleep the right amount in the right way, I am much less likely to have a productive, happy day. Unfortunately on any given night I don’t even know what my body needs or wants in terms of sleep, because my body’s circadian rhythm is all out of whack. Without going into too much detail, I’ll just say that on top of never having had a regular sleep schedule in my life, I have also experienced sleep eating (if you’d like to hear more about it, please visit my YouTube channel), which took over my life for 4-5 years and really sent me for a loop. If you haven’t had sleep troubles, just imagine how horrible a couple of troubled nights feels … and multiply that by about 800.

So sleepy ZZzz...

Anyway, despite my troubled sleep-past, I am determined to make my sleep-future great. It’s not going to be easy, but neither is feeling like I’m living life at 80%. Going forward, I’d like to sleep as close to 11pm as possible, and wake up between 7 and 8am, depending on how tired I am.

To support this goal, I have realized that I need to plan exactly what I am going to do the next day and, more specifically, the next morning. If I do not feel motivated to wake up (which, sadly, happens often) and do something I enjoy, well – then I won’t. I enjoy blogging. So every morning, if I do not have an appointment or other obligation, I will get up and blog. And if I can’t think of anything, I’ll just read the news and find something.

Alright. Thumbs up, smilie face and all that good stuff. You, you nebulous internet thing, will hear from me tomorrow morning bright and early!

Peace, love and SLEEPY SLEEPS,
Aruna

2 thoughts on “Circadian Confusion

  1. Alice L says:

    The constant repetition of “sleep” made me sleepy. 😛 But in a good way (just like the photos). I agree with trying to sleep by 11 PM. It’s a goal I often set and sometimes (often) fail… But it’s much better for you! 😀

Leave a Reply

